MVCA re-elects chair and vice-chair

February 17, 2017 by

mvcaThe Mississippi Valley Conservation Authority has re-elected John Karau as Chair of the Board of Directors at its 49th Annual General Meeting, held on Wednesday.

Karau was appointed by the City of Ottawa in 2012 and will be serving his fourth year as Chair.

The Authority is also congratulating Duncan Abbott on his re-election as Vice-Chair. Abbott was appointed by the Town of Mississippi Mills in 2011 and has held the position of Vice-Chair since 2014.

The MVCA Board is comprised of 17 representatives from its 11 member municipalities.

City of Ottawa:
John Karau (Chair) Eli El-Chantiry Marianne Wilkinson Janet Mason Phil Sweetnam

Town of Carleton Place:
Brian Doucett
Jerry Flynn

Township of Mississippi Mills:
Duncan Abbott (Vice Chair)
Alex Gillis

Township of Addington Highlands:
Kirby Thompson

Tay Valley Township :
Mark Burnham (past chair)

Township of Beckwith:
Faye Campbell

Township of Central Frontenac:
Bill MacDonald

Township of Drummond/North Elmsley:
Gail Code

Township of Greater Madawaska:
Garry McEvoy

Township of Lanark Highlands:
John Hall

Township of North Frontenac:
Gerry Martin

The Board’s role is to establish policies of the Authority, define programs and services to achieve its mandate, determine and monitor annual expenditures, direct management and advocate the work of the conservation authority in their community.

Its jurisdiction covers 4,450 square kilometres.